Home » Scholarship
Scholarship & Stipend
In order that no brilliant student is prevented from pursuing post-matric, higher studies because of poverty, the Central Government as well as the State Government introduced various scholarship schemes, five of which are being currently administered in the state by the Scholarship and Stipend Section of the Education Directorate, Government of West Bengal, Bikash Bhavan, 9th floor, North Block, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700 091:
National Scholarship Scheme
National Merit Scholarship Scheme
D.P.I. Special Stipend Scheme
Hindi Scholarship Scheme
West Bengal Govt. Merit-cum-Means Scholarship Scheme
National Scholarship Scheme
Introduced in 1961 -62, this scheme ran continuously for more than four decades before being formally withdrawn from the 2004-05 session. This means no candidates passing their qualifying examination (like Madhyamik / H.S / Graduation) in 2004-05 or later can apply for the National Scholarships any more; only the renewal cases will be sanctioned now for those students who came into the fold of this scholarship scheme before 2004-05.
Rates of National Scholarship:
Stage Non-hosteller or Day Scholar Hosteller or Residential
At H.S Stage (for Madhyamik-passed candidates)
@ Rs.60/- pm
@ Rs. 100/- pm
At Graduation Stage of General Education-1st year
@ Rs.60/- pm
@ Rs. 100/- pm
(for H. S.- passed candidates) - 2nd & 3rd years
@ Rs. 90/- pm
@ Rs. 140/- pm
At Graduation Stage of Professional Courses (for H. S.- passed candidates)
@ Rs. 120/- pm
@ Rs. 300/- pm
At P. G. Stage of General Education (for B.AV B.Sc / B.Com. passed candidates)
@ Rs. 120/- pm
@ Rs. 300/- pm
Source : Department of School Education (Annual Report)
  • Raja Rammohan Roy
  • Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
  • Michael Madhusudan Datta
  • Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay
  • Jagadish Chandra Bose
  • Rabindra Nath Thakur
  • Prafulla Chandra Roy
  • Swami Vivekananda
  • Sister Nivedita
  • Matangini Hazra
  • Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay
  • Suniti Kumar Chattopadhyay
  • Meghnad Saha
  • Satyendra Nath Bose
  • Sir Ashutosh Mukhopadhyay
  • Bibhuti Bhushan Bandopadhyay
  • Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose
  • Jibanananda Das
  • Kazi Nazrul Islam
  • Manik Bandopadhyay